Monday, July 11, 2011


NEW driving Law Please Read......................

I was aware of the move over to outer lane and knew to slow down BUT I didn't know about the 20 mph under speed limit Thought maybe this might be good information to some. WOW!! $754.00 is a chunk especially if you are making minimum wage.

This happened to this aunt on the 4 lane right outside of Dyersburg , TN a few months ago. Her ticket was over $300 and it cost her 3 points on her license, too. A state trooper and a county cop had someone else pulled over. She slowed down and moved over a  little, but not all the way into the other lane. The trooper wasn't understanding at all. Mom was with her and she didn't know about the law either.

AT $754.00 ALMOST LIKE A  D.U.I.  I knew about the move over law but had not heard about the speed limit if you cannot move over.

If a patrol car is pulled over to the side of the road, you have to change to the next lane (away from the stopped vehicle) or slow down to at least 20 mph under the posted speed limit.  Every state except Hawaii and Maryland and the D .C. has this law.  In California , the Move-over law became operative on January 1, 2010.  A friend's son got a ticket for this recently.  A police car (turned out it was two police cars) was on the side of the road giving a ticket to someone else.  He slowed down to pass but did not move into the other lane.  The second police car immediately pulled him over and gave him a ticket.  He had never heard of the law.  It is a fairly new law that states if any emergency vehicle is on the side of the road, if you are able, you are to move into the far lane.

The cost of the ticket was $754, with three points on your license and a mandatory court appearance.  Please let everyone you know that drives about this new law.  It is true (see details at the following web address).

No comments:

Post a Comment